Special Announcement


You are invited to join 27 Nobel Laureates, 4 former chairs of the Federal Reserve, and 15 former chairs of the Council of Economic Advisers as a signatory of the Economists’ Statement on Carbon Dividends. This historic statement was released last week on the opinion page of the Wall Street Journal (https://www.wsj.com/articles/economists-statement-on-carbon-dividends-11547682910).

Now more than ever, it is critical for economists to point the way forward and coalesce around a bipartisan climate policy. This Economists’ Statement outlines a cost-effective, equitable, and politically-viable national climate solution endorsed by top economists from both parties.

Thousands of economists from around the US have already signed on, and you are encouraged to join them. Together, the signatories will demonstrate the breadth of support within the economics profession for this market-based solution.

If you wish to sign on, please do so at your earliest convenience. Also, please feel free to share this statement with other colleagues in the economics profession. A final version of the statement will be posted online in the coming weeks.

SIGN THE STATEMENT: https://www.econstatement.org/sign-the-statement

George Akerlof, Robert Aumann, Angus Deaton, Peter Diamond, Robert Engle, Eugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen, Oliver Hart, Bengt Holmström, Daniel Kahneman, Finn Kydland, Robert Lucas, Eric Maskin, Daniel McFadden, Robert Merton, Roger Myerson, Edmund Phelps, Alvin Roth, Thomas Sargent, Myron Scholes, Amartya Sen, William Sharpe, Robert Shiller, Christopher Sims, Robert Solow, Michael Spence, and Richard Thaler are recipients of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Paul Volcker is a former Federal Reserve chairman.

Martin Baily, Michael Boskin, Martin Feldstein, Jason Furman, Austan Goolsbee, Glenn Hubbard, Alan Krueger, Edward Lazear, N. Gregory Mankiw, Christina Romer, Harvey Rosen, and Laura Tyson are former chairmen of the president’s Council of Economic Advisers.

Ben Bernanke, Alan Greenspan, and Janet Yellen have chaired both the Fed and the Council of Economic Advisers.

George Shultz and Lawrence Summers are former Treasury secretaries.